Create an account!

Forum

« back

RhinoScript – Place 'area' value into center of shape

Please log in to write a message.

• 14. 1605 (Aug 14, 2017 15.16):

Rhino.AddText "text", Rhino.CurveAreaCentroid(Rhino.GetObject)(0), 10

• 13. cdas (Aug 07, 2017 12.12):

Sorry, I don't script but I also wanted to round the numbers as described, I end up with only errors:

I tried dozens of edits, either with no result or with compiler errors;

arrArea = Rhino.CurveArea(idCrv)
    Round(arrArea, 2)

or
    Call Rhino.AddText(CStr(Round(arrArea(0),2), arrCentroid(0))

etc. :(

Ideale I'd love to even automatically add a m² after the text.

• 12. jerlu41 (Nov 30, 2016 17.24):

Forgive my ignorance, but I'm extremely new to rhinoscript and got as far as opening up the "RhinoScript Editor" How does one create "buttons"? as you described? Amazing I'm just stumbling upon RhinoScript in 2016

• 11. Hanno (Aug 10, 2010 17.12):

Well, you have to thank our user ddelgiu as he is the author of the script - he will be automatically notified on new comments on his script, so adding a comment might also be a good way to ask details like the dimension multiplications.

Btw, those are only possible if you change the "real" dimension value to a fixed number. That means if you scale the dimension object afterwards the number won't adopt to new distances anymore. It's definitely easier to scale your input geometry by 1.2 instead of changing the dimension numbers, if that's practicable for you.

Hanno

• 10. swanny (Aug 10, 2010 16.40):

Johannes,

I nearly spat my coffee all over my screen when I saw this script run because I have to dimension out nearly 200 homes in a plan view. I was doing them manually. This script does all the dimensioning for me, WOW! Thanks once again for sharing.